Does your business feel like an obligation?

Leave a comment

Remember when you started your business, how you imagined your days would be filled with creative, joyful activities that would inspire you every day? And you would revel in the freedom to choose what to work on whenever you wanted to do it?

Then why is it that so many of my coaching clients talk to me about things they “have to” get done? (“I really have to get that proposal out.” “I have to work on my website.” “I have to do billing.”)

If it’s not what they “have to” work on, it’s what they “should” be working on. (“I should be making sales calls.” “I should be posting on social media more.” “I should be working on my new program.”)

Hmmm. Doesn’t sound very inspiring or joyful to me.

Saying you “have to” do something is one way of motivating yourself to do something you don’t want to do. As a technique, it works moderately well. But if you do use “have to” or “should” as a way to get yourself out of bed and in action, you’re going to be left with a sense of obligation and drudgery.

When we’ve devolved into this “duty, burden, and obligation” way of thinking in our business, it makes us feel stuck, overwhelmed, and uninspired.

To say you “have to” do something implies no choice. But we do have a choice. We could (and often do) choose not to do it. And, you COULD choose to go and get a job (or never quit the one you’re in.) But most entrepreneurs would rather stick needles in their eyes.

To reframe this way of thinking, work on catching yourself when you say “I have to” or “I should.” Instead, say “I choose to” or “I choose not to.” (“I choose to work on my billing.” “I choose not to post on social media.”) Owning this choice is infinitely more empowering.

Maintaining a proactive perspective is half the battle. I’ve created a quiz that can help you revitalize your mindset by providing insights into your unique strengths and areas for growth as the “CEO” of your business! It’s a fun way to reflect on your skills and discover opportunities for development. Click here to take the quiz and unlock your CEO potential today!

Author: Liz Wolfe

Liz Wolfe is a business coach, author, and speaker who coaches entrepreneurs to get unstuck so that they can launch and grow an abundant business. For more than 20 years she has empowered people with her three-part coaching system starting with a clear vision coupled with purposeful Action, and removing hidden barriers to get breakthrough results for her clients. Liz got her entrepreneurial start growing up on a sheep farm in Western Pennsylvania with her mother and two sisters. They built a cottage industry making and selling woolen items, which helped Liz develop her public speaking and selling skills. Later she moved to NYC, where she used those skills to create a successful computer consulting business with her husband, Jon. Eventually she transitioned out of the technology business to apply her experience in a more interpersonal context, helping business owners to develop an abundance mindset. Liz says that one of her greatest accomplishments is staying married to her husband for 25 years while running a business with him. They have two wonderful children. Always eager to get in front of a crowd, Liz also plays the ukulele and is half of the singing duo Ukulicious.

Leave a comment